Sensual Stuffed Peppers!

So this post has to have my favourite title ever, but these little fellas are pretty sensual, like a fiesta on your taste buds. I make these stuffed peppers all the time, sometimes just as a snack or as a side dish with some grilled fish or chicken. Super easy and cheap, cheap, cheap!! The main component of the stuffing is the wholegrain rice, the rest is up to you, But I find these ingredients really complement each other. They are really filling and nutritious. Last night my hubby was out with friends and my daughter was at my mums house, So it was just me and my little guy who had ate his favourite tomato and veggie penne for tea. I don’t really like just cooking for one so was on the verge of ordering a take away, but decided to do these instead, they only take 30 minutes and are so much nicer that having all that gross greasy food in your system. A lovely glass of white wine and Disney films with my date turned into a lovely perfect Friday night.

What you will need; Peppers (any colour) Wholegrain rice 1 small cup, Handful of olives, Few fresh coriander leaves, Half of a red chilli, A few spring onions, Handful of cherry tomatoes, Cheese (Whatever cheese you prefer, I used good old ched for these ones, but goats cheese works really well) Mango chutney (Optional)

october2013 140 october2013 141

Step one; Bring to the boil your rice, with a little salt, cover and let it simmer for 20 mins, Meanwhile slice your pepper down the middle and remove seeds, drizzle with a little oil, season and let it soften in the oven for 20 mins at 180-200 degrees.

Step two; Mix the rest of your ingredients into a bowl, with some chunks of the cheese also (Make sure there is some left to grate over the peppers)

Step three; When your rice is ready mix into the bowl and stuff into the peppers, grate over the remaining cheese and pop back into the oven for a further ten minutes until it is all lovely and gooey.

Step four; Pour yourself a glass of wine, put a little dollop of mango chutney on the side and enjoy!!

P’s Sorry for lack of pictures, It was only when I’d finished cooking these little beauties I decided to blog about them.

3 thoughts on “Sensual Stuffed Peppers!

  1. Oooh, they look so yummy and gooey and the thought of that kick of mango chutney…YUM!

    If you’d like, I’d love you to pop over and link this up to my weekly food linky, #recipeoftheweek. You’ll find it under ‘Food’ on my menu bar x

Leave a Reply

