Fast life, fast food

Sometimes when you’re on the go from 6am and running around until you pick the kids up from School it can be so tempting to just order a takeaway or to pop a processed meal in the microwave, we’ve all been there, when cooking from scratch just seems like an eternal hell. With my coconuts I am a little bit of a food G.I Jane, I believe the best way to build up their immune systems and prepare them for the big bad world of adulthood is not necessarily through vaccinations, but through a well balanced healthy diet (With of course a much needed treat!) There have been proven medicinal properties of certain foods and although they might not like the taste (Or in most cases the look) of some acquired foods, there is ways to sneak them into their meals without them even knowing they’ve eaten them! Result! This meal is loved in our house by not just the kids, but me and the big guy also. For us I just chop in some fresh red chilli’s, a little coriander and a squeeze of a fresh lime. For a weekend treat an ice cold beer goes down well, we’re are incredibly ‘Rock n Roll’ I know. A cupcake for dessert and all ears listening to their funny stories from their day in School, dinner time is one of my favourite parts of the day. Ten minutes is all this meal takes (See I even beat Jamie Oliver!) and tastes delicious. Enjoy!

 

IMG_0642

IMG_0643 IMG_0644 IMG_0645 IMG_0646 IMG_0647 IMG_0648 IMG_0649 IMG_0634 IMG_0650 IMG_0658 IMG_0659

Step 1; Choose two good quality salmon fillets, season to taste, drizzle a little good olive oil into the frying pan (As a healthier alternative I often use sesame oils although they are a little more expensive, the taste is great and think of all the nutritious benefits) Pan fry for 5 minutes.

Step 2; In the food processor (Or pestal and mortar) blend up half a corgette, a good handful of spinach and two cloves of garlic. Once it is finely chopped add to the pan, flip over the salmon and continue to cook for a further 5-8 minutes.

Step 3; I use microwave rice as it is the quickest, but you can use whichever type you prefer. White is fine but I prefer brown or whole weat. Simply pop that in for two minutes until it goes Ping! (You know the drill)

Step 4; Splash over some soy sauce. Et voila!

IMG_0638 IMG_0641

My little minx running away from me, these velvet flats from Zara make it super easy to catch my insanley fast five year old. Gotcha Sonny!

Camel cape, asos, Hat Oysho

2 thoughts on “Fast life, fast food

Leave a Reply

